Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

  • Login

Our structure

Our Board

Our Board is made up of an Independent Chair, two further Independent Directors and a Director appointed from each shareholder organisation. Our current Directors are set out below.


Jim Quinn

Independent Director and Chair

James Quinn is based in Auckland and was appointed as an Independent Director in June 2014, replacing David Russell.

He is currently an Independent Director of Lyttleton Port Company, Ngai Tahu Tainui Go Bus, Halls and Chairman of Tubman Heating Ltd and Intilecta Corporation.

He has previously held a number of senior management positions including Chief Executive of KiwiRail (2009-2014), Chairman of mobile payments company M-Com, CEO of Express Couriers, General Manager NZ Post, General Manager Advantage Group and General Manager NZ Couriers.



Geoff Dangerfield

Independent Director

Geoff Dangerfield works in governance and advisory roles in the public and private sectors. He is Executive Chair of the New Zealand Festival, Chair of the Working Group on the Reinstatement of the Christchurch Cathedral, and Chair of the Major Outsourced Contracts Board for the Department of Corrections.

His former public sector roles included CEO of the NZ Transport Agency, CEO of the Ministry of Economic Development and Deputy Secretary to the Treasury where he had responsibility for the NZ Debt Management Office.



Cecilia Tarrant

Independent Director

Cecilia is a professional company director. She was appointed as an Independent Director in July 2016, replacing Dame Patsy Reddy.

She is currently a Director of Fletcher Building Limited, Deputy Chairman of the Government Superannuation Fund Authority and a trustee of The University of Auckland Foundation, and serves on a number of smaller for profit and not-for-profit boards and committees. In addition to her governance roles, Cecilia is an Executive-in-Residence at the University of Auckland Business School where, among other things, she leads a Women’s Mentoring Programme.

Cecilia previously worked in law and banking, first as a lawyer in Auckland and San Francisco and then as an investment banker in New York and London.



Andrew Ayling


Andrew  joined the Payments NZ Board in 2010. He has worked in the banking and finance industry in New Zealand for over 33 years and specialises in all facets of risk management including sovereign, market, liquidity, credit and operational risk management. Andrew has a Bachelor of Commerce from The University of Auckland.



David Martin


David is Head of Processing and Support at Bank of New Zealand. David joined BNZ over 20 years ago and has worked in a range of senior management roles, including Shared Services and Payments, Marketing, and Operations for Retail and Business Banking. He has a BCom from the University of Auckland and is a member of the Institute of Directors.


Jonathan Pringle


Jonathan Pringle is Head of Enterprise Payments at Westpac New Zealand Limited.  Jonathan has over 20 years experience at a senior level in banking in New Zealand - both institutional (principally in the areas of capital markets, corporate finance and mergers & acquisitions) and retail (principally in the areas of corporate development, strategy and payments).  Jonathan has a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Auckland.




Michael Bullock


Michael Bullock is the Head of Institutional and Commercial Operations for ANZ New Zealand. Michael's role encompasses Payment delivery for ANZ New Zealand and is a member of the ANZ Global payment leadership team and an active contributor to ANZ's Enterprise delivery solutions.

Michael has had over 24 years in the banking industry with 14 years experiences in the European and North American markets with particular focus on Payments and Trade Finance.

Educated in New Zealand, Michael is an active member of his local community.




Charles Duke


Charles is Deputy CEO of the Taranaki based TSB Bank Limited. He has in excess of 35 years’ experience in IT and still maintains an active interest in the industry. Charles has been with TSB for 10 years and works very closely with the CEO covering all aspects of the Banks operation. He is a member of the Institute of Directors.



Russell Jones


Russell joined ASB Bank Ltd as CIO in 2008 and is currently the Executive General Manager Technology & Innovation, a role which has responsibility for technology, payments, digital banking and innovation teams. Russell has over 30 years’ IT experience, and prior to joining ASB, held various senior roles with paper manufacturing giant Sappi in South Africa and Europe, Carter Holt Harvey in New Zealand and International Paper in the US. Russell holds an honours degree in Computer Science.



Scott Dalziel


Scott is based in Auckland and is the Chief Operating Officer of HSBC. Scott has 15 years banking experience and a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Auckland. He joined HSBC in 2005 working predominately in IT but also in Operations and Change Delivery and was appointed into the COO role in October 2014. As COO Scott is responsible for IT, Procurement, Corporate Real Estate and Banking Operations.



James Woodward


James is the General Manager of Enterprise Operations at Kiwibank and plays a leadership role at Kiwibank in relation to payments. He has over 15 years of banking industry experience working in and leading sales, product development, market management, strategy, transformation and operations functions. James has previously been a member of the Bulk Electronic Clearing System management committee and an alternate Director for Payments NZ.

James is a member of the Institute of Directors, he was educated in New Zealand, and is actively involved in his local community.

Back to top